LIVE: 14-man Crusaders extend lead over Chiefs | Rugby

The Crusaders have taken a 20-7 lead over the Chiefs with a berth in a Super Rugby Pacific Final on the line.

Both teams are very familiar with each other in big games, with the hosts defeating the Chiefs to claim the 2021 Super Rugby Aotearoa title.

Catch every game of the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

Clayton McMillan’s men got revenge in round four with an upset win at OrangeTheory Stadium before the Crusaders bounced back two weeks later in a convincing performance.

The visitors will welcome back All Blacks captain Sam Cane, who returns from injury via the bench.

The winner of this match will play the winner of Blues-Brumbies on June 18.



40′: The Chiefs hunt for a response but the Crusaders hold strong and force the turnover.

35′: The script repeats itself as Grace crosses for a double down a man thanks to some freakish plays from Mo’unga Crusaders 20-7

31′: Matera returns from the bin and is almost instantly handed a second yellow card for a high tackle

27′: Angus Ta’avao hits back for the Chiefs Crusaders 13-7

23′: Cullen Grace stretches out and scores Crusaders 13-0

20′: The visitors attack the Crusaders’ line for ten minutes straight but the host hold strong and eventually flip the field via Reece’s boot as Will Jordan carries Brad Weber over his own-goal line

19′: Pablo Matera is yellow carded after seven penalties in a row to the Chiefs.

11′: The Chiefs go on the attack and Pita Gus Sowakula looks certain to score, however, some great defense from Sevu Reece stops a certain try.

7′: Quinn Tupaea is yellow carded for a high shot on Pablo Matera. Mo’unga adds another three Crusaders 6-0

5′: Richie Mo’unga slots the first points of the night Crusaders 3-0


TRIES: Grace 2

CONS: Mo’unga 2/2

PENS: Mo’unga 2/2


TRIES: Ta’avao

CONS: Gatland 1/1

Crusaders: 15 Will Jordan, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 David Havili, 11 Leicester Fainga’anuku, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Cullen Grace, 7 Tom Christie, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Scott Barrett (captain), 3 Oli Jager, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 George Bower

Replacements: 16 Brodie McAlister, 17 Tamaiti Williams, 18 Fletcher Newell, 19 Zach Gallagher, 20 Corey Kellow, 21 Mitch Drummond, 22 Braydon Ennor, 23 George Bridge

Chiefs: 15 Josh Ioane, 14 Jonah Lowe, 13 Alex Nankivell, 12 Quinn Tupaea, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Bryn Gatland, 9 Brad Weber (captain), 8 Pita Gus Sowakula, 7 Luke Jacobson, 6 Samipeni Finau, 5 Tupou Vaa’ i, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Aidan Ross

Replacements: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 George Dyer, 19 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Xaiver Roe, 22 Rameka Poihipi, 23 Chase Tiatia

Referee: Nick Berry

Assistant referees: Brendon Pickerill & Jordan Way

The Crusaders’ clash with the Chiefs will be shown LIVE on Stan Sport.

Coverage will be live and ad-free, slated to start at 4:30 pm with kickoff expected at 5:05 pm.

Every game of Super Rugby Pacific will be shown live on Stan Sport, with the Brumbies’ match against the Blues also shown on the Nine Network


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.