‘Business trip:’ Auburn coach Keith Etheredge will lead Alabama All-Stars vs. Mississippi

Auburn High head coach Keith Etheredge has coached in four previous Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classics.

He doesn’t take the honor – or the seriousness of the game – lightly.

“I’ve been defensive coordinator three times and coached linebackers once,” he said. “I’m 4-0 baby. I don’t want to be losing.”


Steve Mask trying to instill confidence at Pell City (Column)

Deric Scott’s Foley rebuild ahead of schedule

15 impact offseason coaching hires

On Friday, Etheredge was named head coach of the Alabama All-Stars for the 2022 game, which will be played Dec. 10 at South Alabama’s Hancock Whitney Stadium in Mobile.

“I’m really, really humbled and grateful,” Etheredge said. “It’s a great opportunity. I love coaching in that game. It’s an awesome game – one of the premiere All-Star games anywhere. I’ve been blessed to coach in it a number of times and learned something every time.”

This year’s game will be the 36th between the two states. Alabama won last year 20-0 at Southern Mississippi and leads the overall series 24-11.

“It’s a serious game,” Etheredge said. “I want the kids to have fun and the coaches to have a good time, but it’s a business trip. You are going there to win and keep that trophy in Alabama. A lot of pride goes into selecting the guys who are going to coach and play in the game. I’m just grateful to be the head coach with so many great coaches in our state.”

A new agreement reached last April sends the All-Star Classic to Hancock Whitney Stadium 2022, 2024 and 2026. Kickoff is set for 11 am this year.

The game will be televised live by the AHSAA TV Network and livestreamed over the NFHS Network with WOTM TV producing the broadcast.

“Coach Etheredge is one of our state’s finest football coaches. We are excited to have him lead this year’s talented group of players,” said Brandon Dean, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA). “His leadership and personality will make this a wonderful experience for our student-athletes. We are looking forward to seeing this team compete in Mobile this December.”

Etheredge led Auburn High School to a 10-3 record in 2021 – his first season at the Class 7A school. He has compiled an impressive 160-55 record in 17 years as a head coach – capturing five state titles and one state runner-up in the process.

He led Leeds High School, his alma mater, to a 107-34 record over a 10-year period from 2006-2015 winning the Class 3A state championship in 2008 and 2010 and the Class 4A crown in 2014 and 2015. His 2013 team was state runner-up.

He was head coach at Class 6A Pell City for two seasons (2016 and 2017), led Class 3A TR Miller for one year in 2018 – going 6-5 each season. He then took over Class 6A Oxford’s program in 2019 and immediately led the Jackets to a 14-1 record and the Class 6A state title. He guided Oxford to an 11-2 record in 2020 and moved to Auburn last season.

The complete Alabama All-Star staff and players for the 2022 Classic will be announced when completed.

The annual AHSAA North-South All-Star Football Classic was moved to Hancock Whitney Stadium in 2020 and will be played one week later next December.



2021 Alabama 20, Mississippi 0 (Hattiesburg)

2020 Alabama 19, Mississippi 7 (Montgomery)

2019 Mississippi 17, Alabama 16 (OT) (Hattiesburg)

2018 Mississippi 24 , Alabama 20 (Montgomery)

2017 Mississippi 42, Alabama 7 (Hattiesburg)

2016 Alabama 25, Mississippi 14 (Montgomery)

2015 Mississippi 28, Alabama 21 (Hattiesburg)

2014 Alabama 36, ​​Mississippi 30 (Montgomery)

2013 Alabama 21, Mississippi 17 (Montgomery)

2012 Alabama 21, Mississippi 16 (Montgomery)

2011 Alabama 31, Mississippi 12 (Montgomery)

2010 Alabama 24, Mississippi 17 (2 OT) (Montgomery)

2009 Alabama 21, Mississippi 13 (Montgomery)

2008 Alabama 28, Mississippi 3 (Montgomery)

2007 Mississippi 26, Alabama 7 (December)

2007 Alabama 51, Mississippi 14 (June)

2006 Alabama 24, Mississippi 3 (Mobile)

2005 Mississippi 21, Alabama 18 (Mobile)

2004 Alabama 24, Mississippi 22 (Mobile)

2003 Alabama 24, Mississippi 16 (Mobile)

2002 Alabama 29, Mississippi 17 (Mobile)

2001 Alabama 33, Mississippi 14 (Mobile)

2000 Alabama 16, Mississippi 9 (Mobile)

1999 Alabama 28, Mississippi 24 (Mobile)

1998 Mississippi 9, Alabama 0 (Mobile)

1997 Alabama 10, Mississippi 6 (Mobile)

1996 Alabama 17, Mississippi 14 (Mobile)

1995 Mississippi 37, Alabama 9 (Mobile)

1994 Mississippi 24, Alabama 10 (Mobile)

1993 Mississippi 17, Alabama 6 (Mobile)

1992 Mississippi 17, Alabama 14 (Mobile)

1991 Alabama 15, Mississippi 13 (Mobile)

1990 Alabama 21, Mississippi 14 (OT) (Mobile)

1989 Alabama 24, Mississippi 21 (4 OT) (Mobile)

1988 Alabama 24, Mississippi 21 (3 OT) (Mobile)

SERIES HISTORY: Alabama holds a 24-11 lead.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *