No. 4 Seed Softball Begins C-USA Tournament Wednesday

DENTON, Texas – The Marshall softball team, the No. 4 seed, begins is the journey in the Conference USA Tournament on Wednesday, hosted by North Texas at Lovelace Stadium. The Herd takes the field at 8:30 pm ET/7:30 pm CT, against the winner of No. 5 seed Florida Atlantic and No. 8 seed UTSA.

The Thundering Herd finished the regular season at 33-16 overall and 15-9 in league play. The FAU Owls are 28-24 and also 15-9 in conference action. Marshall had the tiebreaker over the Owls from winning the regular season series. The Roadrunners are 18-29 overall and 11-12 in C-USA play.

There is a change in the format of the C-USA Tournament this year. Over the past few seasons, day one of the tournament has been single elimination, and then double elimination play begins on the second day. This year, the only games that are single elimination are the first two games of the day with game one between No. 6 seed UAB and No. 7 seed Charlotte (1 pm ET) and game two with FAU and UTSA (3:30 pm ET). Marshall and No. 3 seed WKU, are already in double elimination. The winner of game three (vs. WKU at 6 pm ET) advances to play against No. 2 seed North Texas on Thursday at 1 pm ET. The winner of game four (vs. Marshall) will take on No. 1 seed Louisiana Tech at 3:30 pm ET. The losers of games three and four will face each other on Thursday at 6 pm ET, with the loser of that game being eliminated. See the links below for the bracket and the Championship Central page.

Game Details
Marshall Game Notes (PDF)
Conference USA Tournament Bracket
Conference USA Tournament Central Page


Live Stream: ESPN+

Marshall Radio: 88.1 WMUL-FM, audio streamed online on Stream 1, with Scott Hall on the call
Series History: versus Florida Atlantic – 26 meetings, Marshall leads 16-10
versus UTSA – 11 meetings, Marshall leads 9-2
Last Meeting: versus Florida Atlantic – April 8-10, 2022, Herd won the series two games to one
versus UTSA – May 8, 2019, Herd won 8-0 on day one of the C-USA Tournament

Marshall is coming off a series loss to North Texas. However, the Herd bounced back after dropping the first two games for a 9-6 come-from-behind victory on Sunday. Marshall took an early 2-0 lead on senior Mya Stevenson’s 58th career home run to tie the all-time program record. The Mean Green tied the game at 2-2 and then the Herd scored two more runs in the fourth to go up 4-2. In the bottom of the fifth, North Texas scored three runs to move ahead 5-4.

After a 1-2-3 sixth inning, the Herd bats got rolling in the top of the seventh. Marshall went through 10 batters scoring five runs off five hits, one error and one walk. The Mean Green managed to score one run at the bottom of the seventh on a sacrifice fly for the second out. A fly out to sophomore Kay Kay Kenney in left ended the game and gave the Herd the win.

In the victory on Sunday, Stevenson ripped a double in the seventh to put Marshall up. The double was also the 84th of the season for the Herd, setting a team record. Marshall collected 83 doubles in 2019, head coach Megan Smith Lyon‘s first season at the helm. The Herd set that record over 64 games. In 2022, number 84 came in just the 49th game of the year. Freshman Lauren Love added another in the seventh, driving in two more runs, to push the record to 85. During the season, Marshall has consistently ranked in the top 15 in the country in doubles per game, while also leading the league. The Herd enters the C-USA Tournament 11th in the NCAA with 1.73 doubles per game.

Marshall’s Doubles

12 – Mya Stevenson

11- Aly Harrell

11- Katie Adams

9 – Autumn Owen

9 – Lauren Love

8 – Saige Pye

8 – Grace Chelemen

7- Madison Whitaker

4 – Bub Feringa

2 – Armani Brown

2 – Kay Kay Kenney

1 – Camryn Michallas

1 – Riley Lucas

On Tuesday, Marshall’s players received Conference USA accolades. Redshirt junior Sydney Nester was named the Pitcher and Newcomer of the Year, First Team All-Conference and is a member of the All-Academic Team. The transfer from North Carolina State has been putting her name into the Marshall record book in just one season, and still has one more of eligibility remaining.

Fifth-year seniors Aly Harrell and Saige Pye were named to the First Team. Both were First Team members last season. It was the fourth time for Harrell being named to the First Team. Stevenson and sophomore Autumn Owen were both named to the Second Team. It is the third time that Stevenson has been honored with an All-Conference selection. Owen, a transfer from Gardner-Webb, has had an excellent season in her first year with the Green & White.

For all of the latest information on the Marshall Softball team, follow the Herd on Twitter @HerdsBFacebook at Marshall University Softball and on


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.