Early voting begins today; Find out where you can go to cast your vote | Local News

County voters will soon weigh on local, state and federal elections in the March 1 primaries.

Locally, 2022 brings several contested elections and changes courtesy of four long-time office holders having decided not to seek reelection.

Chief among those is County Judge Roger Harmon who in June announced that he plans to retire after having served for 27 years.

“This has been a good real good ride and I’m now in my 27th year as county judge,” Harmon said at the time. “I’ve met a lot of good people along the way and this commissioners court I think is one of the best we’ve had. I, and I know everyone else on this court, keeps the public in mid. We are servants. I don’t call myself a politician. I never sought this job for the money. In fact, I had a successful insurance business where I made more money at the time.”

Harmon, whose current term runs through Dec. 31, said he announced his decision not to seek reelection mid year last year in order to give others wishing to run time to contemplate their decision and file.

With four candidates, all Republican, the race is the most crowded of the local contests.

The candidates include: Christopher Boedeker, an assistant county attorney and Cleburne councilman; Duaine Goulding, a retired IT and management consultant executive; John C. Harmon, a self-employed real estate appraiser; and Michael Mizell, pastor of Bethel Temple Assembly of God in Cleburne.

The Justice of the Peace Precinct 3 race includes three candidates, also all Republican.

Long-time JP 3 Judge Pat Jacobs decided not to seek reelection.

Candidates for the seat include: Andy Nolan, Wes Powell and Shay Spann.

In the sole other contested justice of the peace race, JP 4 Judge Robert Shaw seeks reelection. Although unopposed in the Republican Primary, Shaw will face Democratic challenger Linda Chasteen in the general election. Chasteen is the only Democratic candidate to have filed in the local races.

Precinct 4 County Commissioner Larry Woolley seeks reelection and is challenged by Mark Eder.

Johnson County Clerk Becky Ivey chose not to seek reelection. Candidates Will Keeton and April Long now compete for her seat in the Republican Primary.

Johnson County Court at Law No. 1 Judge Robert Mayfield also decided not to seek reelection. Former 18th District Court Judge John Neill filed to run for the seat and does so unopposed.

State Sen. Brian Birdwell, R-Granbury’s, District 22 will no longer include Johnson County once Birdwell’s current term ends because of redistricting. Johnson County will at that time fall under State Senate District 10.

In that race the incumbent, state Sen. Beverly Powell, D, Fort Worth, will face the winner between Phil King and Warren V. Norred in the Republican Primary.

US Rep, Roger Williams, R-Austin, and state Rep. DeWayne Burns, R-Cleburne, both run unopposed in their respective races.

Unopposed races on the local level, all of which involve incumbents, include:

• District 248th Judge Wayne Bridewell.

• Johnson County Court at Law No. 2 Judge Steve McClure

• Johnson County District Clerk David Lloyd.

• Johnson County Treasurer Kathy McVey Blackwell.

• Johnson County Precinct 2 Commissioner Kenny Howell.

• Johnson County Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 Judge Ronny McBroom.

• Johnson County Justice of the Peace Precinct 2 Judge Jeff Monk.

Times and locations:

Early voting for the March 1 primary runs Monday through Feb. 25.

Times are 8 am to 5 pm Feb. 14-18 and 7 am to 7 pm Feb. 22-25.

Times are 7 am to 5 pm on Feb. 24 at the Venus Community Center only.

Early voting locations include:

• Johnson County Elections Office, 103 S. Walnut St. in Cleburne.

• Clebburne Conference Center, 1501 W. Henderson St.

• Godley City Hall, 200 W. Railroad St. |

• Burleson Subcourthouse, 247 Elk Drive, Room 104.

• Alvarado Subcourthouse, 206 N. Baugh St.

• Commissioner Precinct 3 Barn, 10420 E. Farm-to-Market Road 917 in Alvarado.

• Commissioner Precinct 4 Barn, 4300 E. FM 4 in Cleburne.

• Venus Community Center, 210 Walnut St.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.